.

History of the Norfolk Terrier



Origins



Nearly 200 years ago, gypsies travelled through East Anglia accompanied by small, red, lop-eared terriers, poacher's dogs that were said to be the toughest terriers imaginable.

East Anglia is grain country. Rats, rabbits and mice were a major problem for farmers if not effectively controlled. Small, agile, terrier-like, reddish-brown dogs were therefore quite common on farms, and they had to ensure that the rodents were kept at bay.

Ratting in a stable, around 1850

There were even professional "rat catchers" who came to particularly badly affected farms with around a dozen of these terriers, sent their dogs there for a week or so to catch predators and then moved on to the next farm. These dogs did indeed gain a great reputation as predator catchers; it is described how one of them killed 80 rats in one day during threshing. A Youtube video showing some Norfolk Terrier and Norfolk Terrier crosses in organized rat hunting can be found
here. Today, Norfolk Terriers are no longer bred for this purpose, but live mainly as companion dogs.

Interestingly, around the same time in East Anglia there are also said to have been heeler dogs, which were relatively small, red and rough-haired. Unfortunately, they are now extinct. It almost seems as if there is a relationship between the East Anglian landscape, the red colour and the rough hair.

Around 1870, the master of the Foxhounds of Ballybrick in Ireland was annoyed that so many foxes were escaping because his dogs were too big to follow them into the dens. He began to breed a line of particularly small dogs from his Irish Terriers and is said to have had a terrier of 10 inches shoulder height after numerous generations. However, it was not until after his death that some of these dogs arrived in England in the Cambridge and Norfolk area. These "Irish mites", as they were called, and the dogs of gypsies and farmers may have been the origin of the Norfolk Terrier.

Norfolk Terriers around 1910, before their recognition as a breed
(sitting next to Lewis Low)

Towards the end of the nineteenth century they began to appear in Cambridge, where they were sold in Trumpington Street near the major colleges by a dog dealer, "Doggy Lawrence". These "Trumpington" or "Cantab" terriers were particularly popular with students, who used them in rat-biting competitions. Horse breeders from nearby Newmarket, one of the largest and most important thoroughbred breeding areas in the world, also showed particular interest.

Starting from Cambridge and the surrounding area, various people endeavoured to further develop these small red terriers, almost all of whom were "horse people" or hunters: Jodrell Hopkins, Lewis Low, Frank Jones, Jock Cooke, Jack Read, to name just the most important. They worked specifically to create a certain type that they had set as their goal. However, it was still a long way to today's Norwich and Norfolk Terrier.


Recognition and Ear Problems



Ch.Biffin of Beaufin (left), born 1932,
and Little Jane (right)

Ear carriage was of little importance to the early breeders of the small red terrier. Temperament and courage were the deciding factors. Often the ears were even cropped.

It was certainly not the intention of the early breeders to create two breeds, but with the ban on docking, it was inevitable that a distinction had to be made between the prick-eared and the lop-eared, and both types had their supporters, so that it was not possible to agree on an ear carriage. When the Norwich Terrier was recognised as a breed by the Kennel Club in 1932, the standard allowed the dogs to have prick or lop ears.

Although it was permitted to cross the types with each other, breeders realised early on that this would not produce good results, namely "flappy ears", which are still often found in Norfolk Terriers today. All attempts at the Kennel Club to obtain the addition of "tipped ear" and "prick ear" when registering the dogs were in vain. It was a tough battle before, after many years, the Kennel Club agreed in 1964 and the drop-eared dogs were given a new name: "Norfolk Terrier". According to British breeders, both breeds benefited from this separation.

The photo of Ch. Biffin of Beaufin shows an example of flappy ears. If Norfolk Terriers have flappy ears today, they are often glued at the age of about 4-5 months for a few weeks to correct the ear carriage.
Here you can find a Youtube video showing how it is done.


Differences to the Norwich Terrier



There is more between the Norfolk and Norwich Terrier than just a difference in ear carriage. Here are some views from breeders who know both breeds: Norwiches are deeper, shorter and more compact in build overall. The Norfolk is a touch longer in the back and lighter, even closer to the "working terrier". The deep red, hard coat is more common in the Norfolk, but you will see considerably more "black and tan", "grizzle" or "wheaten" among the Norwiches. But the main differences lie in the nature of the two breeds. Norwich Terriers are generally always around their owner's feet and are therefore more likely to go for a walk without a lead. Even in the house, they follow their "master" at every turn. Norfolks are somewhat more independent in their nature, sometimes going their own way and staying in their place at home if their "master" just happens to go into another room. While the Norwich Terrier has an almost exuberant temperament, the Norfolk is often more calm and imperturbable. He is quieter in the house, less lively, but also not as "showy" as his stand-up cousin. As a "pointer" in the show ring, the Norwich is almost a natural, something the Norfolk usually has to learn first. In any case, it is wrong to compare the two breeds in the show ring. They were separated to prevent this. After all, a judge would never think of comparing a West Highland White Terrier with a Cairn Terrier, even though they have the same origins.

The typical diseases of the breed are also quite different and even in movement the expert sees differences between Norwich and Norfolk Terriers.

(Source: Joan R. Read)

Geschichte der Norfolk Terrier



Ursprünge



Vor fast 200 Jahren zogen Zigeuner durch East Anglia und wurden von kleinen, roten, kippohrigen Terrieren begleitet, Wildererhunde, denen man nachsagte, sie seien die härtesten Terrier, die man sich vorstellen konnte.

East Anglia ist ein Getreideland, und Ratten, Kaninchen und Mäuse stellten für die Bauern ein grosses Problem dar, wenn sie nicht wirksam bekämpft wurden. Kleine, wendige, terrierähnliche, rotbraune Hunde sah man daher recht häufig auf den Höfen, und sie mussten dafür sorgen, dass die Nager kurz gehalten wurden.

Rattenjagd auf einem Bauernhof,
ca. 1850

Es gab sogar berufsmässige “Rattenfänger”, die mit rund einem Dutzend solcher Terrier auf besonders schlimm betroffene Höfe kamen, ihre Hunde dort etwa eine Woche auf Raubzeugfang schickten und dann zum nächsten Hof weiterzogen. Als Raubzeugfänger verschafften sich diese Hunde in der Tat einen grossen Ruf; so wird beschrieben, wie einer von ihnen an einem Tag während des Dreschens 80 Ratten tötete. Ein Youtube Video, das einige Norfolk Terrier und Norfolk Terrier Kreuzungen bei der organisierten Rattenjagd zeigt, finden Sie
hier. Heute werden Norfolk Terrier nicht mehr hierfür gezüchtet, sondern leben hauptsächlich als Begleithunde.

Interessanterweise soll es um die gleiche Zeit in East Anglia auch Heeler, das sind Hütehunde, gegeben haben, die als einzige ihrer Art relativ klein, rot und rauhaarig waren. Leider sind sie ausgestorben. Es scheint fast, als bestünde eine Beziehung zwischen der Landschaft von East Anglia, der roten Farbe und dem rauhen Haar.

Um 1870 ärgerte sich der Master der Foxhounds von Ballybrick in Irland, dass ihm so viele Füchse entkamen, weil seine Hunde zu gross waren, um ihnen in die Bauten zu folgen. Er begann, aus seinen Irish Terriern eine Linie besonders kleiner Hunde herauszuzüchten und soll nach zahlreichen Generationen einen Terrier von 10 inches Schulterhöhe gehabt haben. Jedoch erst nach seinem Tode gelangten einige dieser Hunde nach England in die Gegend von Cambridge und Norfolk. Diese “Irish mites”, wie sie genannt wurden, und die Hunde der Zigeuner und Bauern mögen der Ursprung des Norfolk Terriers gewesen sein.

Norfolk Terrier um das Jahr 1910, vor ihrer Anerkennung als Rasse
(neben Lewis Low sitzend)

Gegen Ende des neunzehnten Jahrhunderts tauchten sie vermehrt in Cambridge auf, wo sie in der Trumpington Street nahe den grossen Colleges von einem Hundehändler, “Doggy Lawrence”, verkauft wurden. Besonders bei den Studenten waren diese “Trumpington” oder “Cantab” Terrier sehr beliebt, die sie zu sportlichen Wettkämpfen im Rattenbeissen einsetzten. Besonderes Interesse zeigten auch die Pferdezüchter aus dem nahegelegenen Newmarket, einem der grössten und bedeutendsten Vollblutzuchtgebiete der Welt.

Ausgehend von Cambridge und Umgebung bemühten sich verschiedene Personen um die Weiterentwicklung dieser kleinen roten Terrier, fast all waren “Pferdeleute” oder Jäger: Jodrell Hopkins, Lewis Low, Frank Jones, Jock Cooke, Jack Read, um nur die wichtigsten zu nennen. Sie arbeiteten gezielt darauf hin, einen bestimmten Typ, den sie sich als Ziel gesetzt hatten, zu schaffen. Bis zum heutigen Norwich und Norfolk Terrier war es jedoch noch ein weiter Weg.



Anerkennung und Ohrprobleme



Ch.Biffin of Beaufin (links), geboren 1932,
und Little Jane (rechts)

Die Ohrhaltung war von geringer Bedeutung für die frühen Züchter der kleinen, roten Terrier, Temperament und Mut waren ausschlaggebend. Häufig wurden die Ohren sogar kupiert.

Gewiss war es nicht im Sinne der früheren Züchter, zwei Rassen zu schaffen, doch mit dem Kupierverbot kam es zwangsläufig dazu, dass man die Stehohrigen von den Kippohrigen unterscheiden musste, und beide Typen hatten ihre Anhänger, so dass man sich nicht auf eine Ohrhaltung einigen konnte. Als es 1932 durch den Kennel Club zur Anerkennung des Norwich Terriers als Rasse kam, durften die Hunde laut Standard Steh- oder Kippohren haben.

Obwohl es erlaubt war, die Typen miteinander zu kreuzen, erkannten die Züchter schon früh, dass damit keine guten Resultate zu erzielen waren, nämlich “Flatteröhrchen”, wie sie noch heute bei den Norfolk Terriern vorkommen. Alle Versuche beim Kennel Club, einen Zusatz “Kippohr” und “Stehohr” bei der Eintragung der Hunde zu erwirken, waren vergeblich. Es war ein harter Kampf, ehe nach vielen Jahren 1964 der Kennel Club einwilligte und die Kippohrigen einen neuen Namen erhielten: “Norfolk Terrier”. Beide Rassen haben nach Ansicht britischer Züchter von dieser Trennung profitiert.

Ein Beispiel für Flatteröhrchen zeigt das Foto von Ch. Biffin of Beaufin. Wenn Norfolk Terrier heute Flatteröhrchen haben, dann werden sie häufig im Alter von ca. 4-5 Monaten für ein paar Wochen geklebt um die Ohrhaltung zu korrigieren. Ein Youtube Video das zeigt, wie es geht, finden Sie
hier.

Unterschiede zum Norwich Terrier


Es liegt mehr zwischen Norfolk und Norwich Terrier als nur eine unterschiedliche Ohrhaltung. Dazu einige Ansichten von Züchtern, die beide Rassen kennen: Norwiches sind insgesamt tiefer, kürzer und kompakter gebaut. Der Norfolk ist eine Spur länger im Rücken und leichter, dem “working terrier” noch näherstehend. Beim Norfolk ist das tiefrote, harte Haarkleid häufiger anzutreffen, dafür sieht man unter den Norwiches wesentlich mehr “black and tan”, ”grizzle” oder “wheaten”. Aber die Hauptunterschiede liegen im Wesen der beiden Rassen. Norwich Terrier sind in der Regel ständig um die Füsse ihrer Besitzer, können so auch eher mal ohne Leine spazierengehen. Selbst im Haus folgen sie ihrem ”Meister” auf Schritt und Tritt. Norfolks sind etwas unabhängiger in ihrem Naturell, gehen auch mal eigene Wege und bleiben zu Hause auf ihrem Platz liegen, wenn ihr “Meister” nur gerade mal in ein anderes Zimmer geht. Während der Norwich Terrier ein fast überschäumendes Temperament besitzt, ist der Norfolk eher gleichmütig und unerschütterlich. Er ist ruhiger im Haus, weniger quirlig, aber auch nicht so “showy”, wie sein stehohriger Vetter. Der Norwich ist als “Zeiger” im Ausstellungsring fast ein Naturtalent, was der Norfolk in der Regel erst lernen muss. In jedem Fall ist es falsch, die beiden Rassen im Ausstellungsring miteinander vergleichen zu wollen. Sie wurden getrennt, um eben dieses zu verhindern. Ein Richter kommt schliesslich auch nicht auf die Idee, einen West Highland White Terrier mit einem Cairn Terrier zu vergleichen, obwohl sie denselben Ursprung haben.

Auch die rassetypischen Krankheiten sind ganz unterschiedlich und selbst in der Bewegung sieht der Fachmann Unterschiede zwischen Norwich und Norfolk Terrier.

(Quelle: Joan R. Read)